Home · Reviews · Technology

Review: VIVO Y55

I have always been a hesitant buyer of gadgets. I’m the type of customer who will really do my research, my study before buying. Watch reviews on YouTube, ask my friends about it, read blogs and forums. I also ask many questions to the sales person.

So my friend and I were considering of buying the Vivo Y55 but I told her she should buy the phone first then I’ll get one for myself. Because I want to get a firsthand, unbiased review. Plus, Vivo was just a new brand in the Philippines and it hasn’t built its strong reputation in the country. Thanks to Stephen Curry, it helped a little bit.

She got hers last Saturday, I think last March 12. Then when we saw each other, I unexpectedly bought one for myself also on the day we saw each other. It was an unplanned purchase, mind you. I’ve been meaning to get the phone but I can’t muster the strength to get one because it’s a bit costly. My friend was actually shock when I bought mine very fast!

I was shocked also!!! So here’s my most impulsive purchase to date.

The Vivo Y55.

regular-post-vivo

I got the phone at SM Megamall, the Cyberzone. I forgot the specific name of the gadget store but I got it on sale for only P6,990. The original price was P7,990! The saleslady said that stocks were running out fast, and that Vivo will not produce any Vivo Y55 anymore once they run out of stocks.

It sounded a bit of a marketing strategy.But nonetheless, I bought mine. The specs of the phone is pretty great.

Vivo Y55 Specs

5.2-inch HD IPS display, 282ppi
1.4GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 octa-core CPU
Adreno 505 GPU
2GB RAM
16GB internal storage
up to 128GB via microSD (dedicated slot)
8MP rear autofocus camera w/ LED flash
5MP front camera w/ screen flash
4G LTE
Dual-SIM
Wi-Fi 802.11ac
Bluetooth 4.1
GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS, Beidou
USB OTG
Funtouch OS 2.6 (Android 6.0 Marshmallow)
2,650mAh (non-removable) battery
147.9 x 72.9 x 7.5 mm
142 g

Free Things:

Since I paid in cash it came with a free 16GB Micro SD Card, Globe Sim, and a Monopod. I made my decision to buy this one unplanned because of the Micro SD card Hahaha! I didn’t get to take a picture of the SD card because I was already using it.

regular-post-box

Free Selfie-stick!

The Vivo Y55 also came with a free jelly case, and a screen protector shit. The only bad thing about the free stuff was the monopod. It wasn’t sturdy at all! I feel like my phone will drop any minute when I use this. And the part where the phone is held can easily be removed just look at the bottom left photo.

regular-post-monopod
Look a Christmas Box!

Anyways, I’ve been loving the phone so far. Even though it is only 5.2″. I normally go for the 5.5″ because I like it big! My previous phone from last year, Cherry Mobile Infinix Pure XL was 5.5″.

But ehhh, this Vivo phone is better than my old one, ’cause I can Snapchat videos smoothly, the camera is way better, the battery is longer, there’s so many tips and tricks that surprises me!

The most important thing for me about this phone is that it can record FM radio! It might sound bit strange for you, but I need to record my radio because of my favorite radio show on the planet, Good times with Mo! I checked the Oppo and Asus phones if they have this feature. They don’t.

I don’t want to go back to Samsung anymore because of the prices and it gets hot very fast! Baka sumabog! Boom!

The only downside I find so far with the Vivo Y55, is the storage. I cannot transfer apps to the SD card. I think because of the OS. I’m doing my research about this but I am not yet successful in this regard.

Anyways, I’ll just ask my friend about this.

If you’re planning to buy the Vivo Y55, and if it fits rightly your budget and the specs you are looking for. Then this phone might be perfect for you!

 

2 thoughts on “Review: VIVO Y55

  1. This was a well-written review! Thank you for posting this! I’m currently doing my research as well on budget phones and it’s really hard to find well-written, unbiased reviews that didn’t have me yawning in the middle bit. What I’m really after though is the camera. Is it good quality or nah? Your response would really be appreciated!

    Like

    1. Hi Zythe. Thanks for checking my review! Anyways, with regards to the camera, I find that the front facing camera is way better than the main camera.This is a bit strange though. But overall, Vivo Y55 is a pretty excellent phone! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

