Home · Reviews · Save your Sahod

8 Things I learned from My First Job

BACKSTORY: 

I graduated from college last summer of 2016. Had my first job as a Marketing Assistant at a consultancy firm on June 15, 2016. And I passed my resignation letter on February 15, 2017.

I remember when I was about to graduate, I was extremely excited because that means I will be able to earn my own money.

I don’t have to depend on my parents anymore. I will be independent. I will live alone in a fancy condo in Makati CBD. I will have my own car. I will be earning 50K a month.

That was my goals when I was in 3rd year college. Sadly, now that I graduated and working those goals are soooo far away from me.

I really thought that I will be able to do the things I wanted to do once I start working. But no. There’s actually a lot of struggles and hardships you need to go through in the corporate world.

At my first job, my 9-6 job was very restricting. I even work on Saturdays! At the age of 21, I felt overworked and underpaid. Plus, the management is horrible!

I felt extremely devastated that I was not able to live my dreams in college. I was shocked that I was in the real world adults were talking about.

Now, with a new batch of fresh graduates this year. I want to give my advice to them–to you, who are looking for a job. FYI, this is not tips for a job interview.

These are my life lessons from my first job:

  1. Love your job not your company

    This is the most important thing I learned…to never ever be loyal to the company your working for. FYI, I sacrificed many things for the company because I thought they will love me back. Wow pumapag-ibig ang dating. Do not love your company too much unless it’s your family’s business.

  2. Love your colleagues… not in a romantic way

    Apart from your salary or that attendance incentive, your workmates is another reason why you go to your office every single day. Your workmates can make your workload feel not much of a burden, they can make you laugh when stressed, they can lend you a hand when you need them. It’s important to get along with many of them so there’s always something to look forward to in the office.

  3. Hang out with creative people more

    Creative people are imaginative people. You should hang out more with them because they’re weird, lively, deep, and knows how to have a good conversation. Non-imaginative people are a curse to the society. They’re boring and blunt. You will not grow with them. Associate yourself more with creative people, because they are always the successful one since they’re not afraid to take the leap of faith!

  4. Know your labor rights

    My university didn’t teach me about this one when I was studying. Know your rights so your dumb HR will not make you feel dumber than you already are. Know your benefits, the holidays, the VL/SL, the labor code of the Philippines, and the likes. You are an employee, not a slave.

  5. It’s normal to make mistakes

    Working with a perfectionist is a living hell! I know that because I worked with one before. When working with one, you should owe up to your mistakes and then stab them in the neck. Just kidding. Well, as much as possible try not to commit mistakes the second time because the corporate world is a competitive world. And you need to win the competition.

  6. Don’t be afraid to take the leap of faith

    I was afraid to resign from my first job, because I have this perception that no one will hire me again. But hey! Someone did, and they even had the better offer. You’ll never know that something is good for you until you tried it. Don’t be afraid to try something new. Learn to step out of your comfort zone every once in a while!

  7. Be honest

    At my first job, photoshop is a very important skill. I lied that I knew how to photoshop during my job interview. When I finally got the job, it was hell! I felt bad for our graphic designer because he was doing all the works. I was only doing the copywriting. I admitted later on, after a month or so that I don’t actually know how to photoshop. I eventually learned how because I got pressured. I enjoyed it though.

  8. Know your strengths and weaknesses

    I’m an introvert and my very weakness is talking to people. I don’t even know how  I managed to survive studying a 4-year course that requires a lot of talking. Heck, I don’t even know why I applied for the marketing assistant job. To let you all know, this was one of the reasons why I decided to resign at my first job. Because the job is for the extroverted. It exhausted me so much to put on a fake face all the time when talking to clients. Knowing your strengths and weaknesses will help you improve the areas needed to improve.

Final thoughts

Now at my second job, as a marketing assistant (again) it doesn’t exhaust my introvert energy that much. Since my new job does not require talking to clients. So you, FRESH GRADUATES, take my advice. Learn from my personal experiences. You’re actually lucky that you read this article!

 

Leave a Reply

